D1NZ Pro-Sport is an exciting new competition class for Drifting in New Zealand. Formerly known as the D1NZ Pro-AM Development Series, the 'D1Rookie' class been a breeding ground for new and up-coming drivers; a feeder class to the Pro-Championship.

In 2015/16 the Demon Energy D1NZ Pro-AM category removed its previous 'Feeder-Only' restriction which prohibited experienced drivers from competing in what was essentially a development series for the Pro-Class. The category became Championship in its own right with a new name, with a cost-effective 5 round calendar as part of the Demon Energy D1NZ Series Tour around New Zealand.

The D1NZ Pro-Sport Series features a 235mm Wide Control Tyre restriction used to limit horsepower output and over-development of engines in the category, a regulation that has been implemented for a number of years in the Pro-AM category with great success. Semi Slick Tyre compounds and Nitrous Oxide Systems will also be banned from the class, again to reduce competition costs.

The aim of the new class is to provide both privateers, semi-professional drivers and new drivers a restricted platform to compete, learn and develop. While privateers and experienced drifters will now have a place to compete on a more affordable budget, D1NZ will also implement a parallel points programme for new drivers under the guise of 'D1 Rookie'.

The D1-Rookie Points Programme will keep the development and growth of new and young drivers from the grass-roots community and continue feeding new drivers into the Pro-Championship should they wish to do so.

The category joins the 2018 NZ-Xtreme Motorsport Series as undercard to the main D1NZ Pro-Championship, featuring a 5 round nationwide tour accross New Zealand.

Interested in competing D1NZ Pro-Sport? Head over to our Contact Page on our Website!




2011 - Nico Reid - Luxury Sports - Nissan Silvia S13 [Turbo]

2012 - Cameron Vernon - Skinny Mobile (SSR) - Nissan Skyline R32 [Turbo]

2013 - Darren Kelly - DKM Fabrication - Nissan Skyline R32 [Turbo]

2014 - Vincent Langhorn - Euphoric Motorsport - Nissan Laurel C33 [Turbo]

2015 - Troy Jenkins - Brian Roberts Towing (TJM) - Nissan Silvia S15 [Turbo]

2016 - Chad McKenzie - Privateer - Nissan Skyline R32 [Turbo]

2017 - Bruce Tannock - Mag & Turbo - Nissan Silvia S13 [Turbo]